A Game of Scones by Samantha Tonge- Book Review

A Game of Scones by Samantha Tonge

A Game of Scones by Samantha Tonge

I downloaded this book to take on holiday with me and I wasn’t disappointed. It was a perfect light-hearted, entertaining romantic read.

Now possibly I should have paid more attention to the look of the cover – olive trees anyone? But I didn’t. I saw blue sea, sailing boats and quaint little seaside houses in the distance. I thought scones, summer, little table and chairs, gotta be set in Devon or Cornwall or something similar. But no. It’s in a small fishing village called Taxos in Greece.

Now, I don’t know about you but I still don’t associate scones and greek islands in the same context so as I started the book I was still expecting it to revert back to England and in particular cosy country villages that serve cream teas.

However, if I had spent more time reading the blurb I should have picked that up, and I can honestly say it didn’t detract from my enjoyment at all, just left me with a different expectation at the start.

I found the book well written, well paced, entertaining, the right mix of plot and romance for what I would consider a chick lit read. It was a sweet romance which is what I like.

The basic premise is that Pippa Pattinson grew up spending her summers in Taxos, spending time with her friend Niko. Her dream was to open her own tea shop there one day. But here she is now, older wiser with a suave and sophisticated boyfriend, Henrik and she’s having a crisis. Who does she really love and what will she do with her life?

Will she follow her heart or her head?

I really liked it and I would recommend it.

Leave a Reply

