3 Writing Competitions to enter

Since it is the New Year, and I feel I should start this year with enthusiasm and vigour regards my writing, ( well, I should, shouldn’t I?), I mean to enter some writing competitions.

Now, if I state that I mean to enter some competitions, that means I am going to have to write some short stories too, doesn’t it?

And there lies my problem. You see, I’m not so good at short stories.

I get the feeling that these competitions are just for ‘literary type’ writers. And that just isn’t me.

I’m just a plain kind of writer.

I can’t write full flowing, flowery descriptions and use metaphors and similies. heck, I can’t even remember what they are or probably even spell them correctly. It just isn’t for me.

I am just a plain speaking, sort of girl. I like dialogue and plot. I like to keep it moving. I like interesting characters, to whom interesting things happen.

So, I am not sure I even stand a chance.

On the other hand, I know, 100% for certain, that I stand absolutely zilch chance, diddly squat, negative numbers  sort of chance, if I don’t start writing creatively and see where it takes me. plus of course, if I never send it off

Plus of course, if I never send it off,  I will waste another year.

Another year of feeling too unsure. Not up to it. Not good enough. Not brave enough. Not a proper ‘writer’.

And I’m sick of it.

If I look back at last year I said the same thing, just different reasons, see here. I entered nothing.

So I’m going to shut my eyes and just do it.

Join me.

 

  1. http://www.readersdigest.co.uk/100-word-story-competition- deadline 20th feb 2016  100 word flashfiction
  2.   http://www.doolinwritersweekend.com/storyComp.html  – deadline 5th feb 2016 short story comp. 1,000 – 3,000 words
  3. https://thejohnoconnorwritingschool.wordpress.com/latest-news-2/ – deadline 29th feb, 2016. Short story competition, 2,000 – 3,000 words.

 

If that wasn’t enough for you, there are tons more on this site.

http://www.dystopianstories.com/writing-competitions-2016/

Leave a Reply

