Love From Paris – by Alexandra Potter – Book Review

love from paris

Recently I thought I was tired of Chick lit type books. But then I found Alexandra Potter and #LoveFromParis.

Oh my!

All my favourite things in one book.

Romance

History

Paris

Mystery

To be truthful, I nearly put it down during the first couple of pages because I thought it was too chick litty, and I was wanting a bit more. But I’m so glad I persevered.

Before I knew it I was whisked away to Paris and the minute Ruby and Harriet step inside the old apartment block I knew this would be the story for me.

The mystery of the love letters and the old wartime romance keeps you guessing right to practically the last page in the book.

Paris, of course, is a perfect setting for such an atmospheric romance, it couldn’t have been set anywhere else.

From the elegant buildings and street cafes, to the tourist destinations – the Louvre, the Eiffel Tower, The Seine, Notre Dame and also the beautiful bridges with the locks where you can attach your own padlock, solidifying your love for eternity.

cropped-img_3732.jpg

And the men. Not one, not two, but three gorgeous men in the book. Not all of them are for Ruby however, but Jack, Xavier and Luc all come across as dashingly handsome, romantic, sensitive men that any woman would want to fall in love with.

Cover Love

The other thing I loved about the book was the cover.

I shamefully admit that I picked it up out of deep admiration and lust for the cover.

the love detective

The cover designer is Adrian Valencia, and I have included Miss Potter’s other gorgeous book about heroine Ruby Miller, see above.

On both covers, I love the background colour, the titles which are done with the floral wording which  really stands out and the small graphic illustrations. Notice the small details of the first cover, the love letters, the chic french outfit, the tiny padlock swinging off the last letter in LOVE. It’s all so enticing.

Both covers draw you in and make a great pair.

I really like the font they have used for Alexandra Potter, and also that the designer kept it all lower case. Plus of course the two corners with the floral embellishments.

Have you read this book?

What did you like about it?

I’d love you to leave me a comment.

 

One thought on “Love From Paris – by Alexandra Potter – Book Review

Leave a Reply

