#1stdraftdiary – end of week one

coffee-667052_1280

Elizabeth Gilbert is still my hero. You don’t come up with an idea, the idea seeks you out! More ideas have flown into my mind this week than I ever would have thought possible, I am amazed at where they came from. One minute I was just typing away, the next a furious new idea swirled around and just demanded to be let in. As the week went on, more and more things kept happening in the story that were never meant to be there. Imagination is an amazing thing.

The week started out quite slowly as I spent too much time plotting and not enough time writing, but by Days 4 -7 I had finally cracked it and learnt something intrinsic about my writing; it has a life of its own.

After starting on about 10k words originally, I got about the same again written. So total word count after week 1 is now standing at 20,591. Hooray! And now I can really see where it’s heading.

All of last weeks writing was working on back story. It wasn’t supposed to be, but as the back story was flowing I kept at it. the plan just became a rough guideline at this point, but I am not throwing it out because I may need it when I come to the editing later. I think there will be a lot of ‘Copy and Paste’ going on.

The backstory is about the events that happened that summer when the hero/heroine met, and events that had happened even prior to that and continued to spiral out of control.

I never meant the story to be anything other than a light hearted romance, but it now has some darker elements in it, and a mystery that occurred even prior to that summer which has consequences to the heroine.

After returning from the RNA summer conference in Lancaster this weekend, I have decided to go even darker with more sinister events and keep weaving the unsolved mystery into it. Personally I know they are the stories I love reading, the ones with a dual time line that jump back from present to past, plus weave a mystery throughout and keep the reader guessing to the end.

I attended a very helpful workshop on writing crime, particularly a murder investigation, so I shall see how it goes.

I think it’s always a surprise where your story takes you, so it is easy to see now I am a pantster, no matter how good my previous planner was. So while the ideas keep coming I just want to get it all out and type as quick as I can.

So, home again from the weekend, a ‘little’ sleep deprived, but ready for Week 2 of #Nanowrimo #1stdraftdiary .

 

Leave a Reply

