The WoMentoring Project

WoMentoring Project (1)

 

Back in January, when I was feeling really gung ho about my writing I entered a gazillion different things in order to move my writing career forward. I applied for a ‘Date With An Agent’, I sent short stories off to women’s magazines, and I even threw together a brief synopsis and one chapter submission for a Mills and Boon competition. (Even though I’m not really a mills and boon kinda writer), needless to say I didn’t get anywhere.

Oh woe is me, as they say, I’m such a crap writer, I will never get anywhere, my prose must be pathetic so I may as well start thinking about whether I can put myself through this again and again. Rejection is pretty hard to take, and I guess I was being a bit of a wimp thinking I couldn’t hack it.

What I really needed was some advice, a big giant kick up the backside and to get on with it again.

I took a few weeks off writing my current wip, and went back to an old one, trying to polish it up some more and perhaps send it off again. And then somehow, I found the strength to go back to the present one. I have no idea really what prompted me, except a belief that what I am writing is worth something. I do believe in it. I was just having a few duvet days, well possibly a month of duvet days.

So I went back, dusted it off and started again, editing mainly, switching bits around, and taking a good long look at the thing. The story is there, but it needs pulling together, polishing, really working hard at it to make it brilliant. But I needed guidance. I wanted someone else to have a good read over it, make suggestions etc. You know it all; another pair of eyes or two.

And then…

And then I opened an email during the week, and an application that I had made in January came good.

I had applied to be mentored through The WoMentoring Project, and had done my homework and sent my submission off to an editor called Sophie Orme.

womentoring

The reason I had applied to Sophie was as obvious as the nose on my face. She is an editor who has worked with lots of successful authors, including Kate Morton.

Kate Morton!

Hero worship now!

I loved ‘The Lake House’.

The lake house

I aspire to write books which are epic love stories, or rich, deep woven tales with dual time-lines, a fascinating historical back story, a mystery or a puzzle to solve.

I read books by authors like Jojo Moyes, Dianah Jefferies, Iona Grey and of course Kate Morton.

Choosing Sophie Orme as a mentor was a no-brainer. I need her technical experience and her thought processes and her wisdom, to tease out my story into a wonderful tale full of romance, tragic deaths, love letters and ghosts. Sophie seems to enjoy the same types of books as I do, and I hoped more than anything that she would see something she liked in my writing.

I was absolutely thrilled to receive the reply this week that she has accepted my application. I am so grateful for this opportunity.

Thank you Sophie.

If you haven’t heard of The WoMentoring Project before, I will put up a post about it soon. In the meantime, click on the link HERE.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “The WoMentoring Project

Leave a Reply

